Beatrix Potter awards – nominations open!

This year, many people in the Lake District have been celebrating the 150th anniversary of the birth of Beatrix Potter, the world famous author, illustrator, farmer and supporter of The National Trust. To bring the year to an exciting and fitting close, the National Trust have launched the Beatrix Potter Awards. This new awards scheme will celebrate different aspects of Beatrix’s work and interests by recognising by the lives and activities of people today, and how she has inspired them – either directly, or subliminally through their love of things that were important to her. There are various categories, and for this inaugural year, available to people and businesses living and working within Cumbria. It’s simple – you either nominate yourself, or someone nominates you. Nomination is free.

There are seven different categories: click here to find out more

  1. Story Illustration award
  2. Looking after Landscape award
  3. Farming with Nature award
  4. Herdwick champion award
  5. Local hero award
  6. Community Business award
  7. Looking after Beatrix’s legacy award

Closing date 7 December.

Birthday Parties

Take the hassle out of organising your child’s birthday party and have a fun day to remember in a completely unique setting with a VIP appearance from the most famous Rabbit in the world!

Tea Room

The Beatrix Potter™ themed tea room is a family friendly cafe with fabulous home-made cakes, scones and soup, not forgetting the Peter Rabbit™ picnic basket.  There’s something for everyone!


Browse for souvenirs in our famous Beatrix Potter shop and take a little bit of Potter magic home with you.  You can also shop online before you visit, or pop in our boutique Nursery shop, just outside the Attraction.

How to find us